The ironic thing about this memorial is that his friends always leave fresh skid marks in front of the site, refreshing them when they fade. I'm just glad he didn't die from a gunshot. "It's the anniversary of the day Travis shot himself...let's play Russian Roulette to remember him!" Yeah.
And no, J., I will not make a Big Bad Wolf joke about this picture. I do have some standards of decency left. Besides, I can't figure out how to use "huffs and puffs" without people thinking I'm claiming these three used drugs. Can we say "libel"?
I've always had a funny little fascination with roadside memorials and I can't possibly be the only one. Can I? *squeaks* If you have any good memorials in your area, do me a favor and pass them on, would you? Just gather your courage, climb out of your car and take a picture. Be prepared to tell anyone who questions you that it was your mother (father, child, etc.) who died right there. That'll shut 'em up and they may even take it for you to spare you further pain. Win-win if that happens. I'll post your pictures and give you due credit so people can shake their heads sadly at you, too. Also, if you choose to send a pissy email about my insensitive little hobby, I reserve the right to post that, too. It's my blog. I can do that. ;-)